Competence cluster greenBatt2021-04-15T15:26:18+02:00

Welcome to the cluster of competence Recycling & Green Battery (greenBatt)

The greenBatt cluster of competence is part of the umbrella concept of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) for battery research. The cluster’s mission is to develop, design and apply innovative technologies, methods and tools for an energy- and material-efficient battery life cycle and closed material and resource loops.

Cluster goals of greenBatt include:

  • Development and application of innovative recycling and resynthesis processes
  • Increasing the quality and availability of data to develop multidisciplinary lifecycle models and tools
  • Recommendations for design for recycling and end-of-use

Within the 16 research projects of the greenBatt cluster, scientists from a total of 34 institutes of German universities and research institutions are working together on the investigation of battery recycling. Through continuous communication between the research projects and with the management circle of the cluster, consisting of members from industry and science, a close network of science and industry is created in close coordination with the BMBF and KLiB.

Together with the competence cluster Battery Utilization Concepts (BattNutzung), greenBatt forms the cross-sectional initiative Battery Life Cycle. Other competence clusters in the BMBF’s umbrella concept are ProZell (battery cell production), InZePro (intelligent battery cell production), ExcellBattMat (battery materials), FestBatt (solid-state batteries) and AQua (analytics/quality assurance).

Kompetenzcluster greenBatt2021-03-26T00:02:19+01:00

Willkommen beim Kompetenzcluster Recycling & Grüne Batterie (greenBatt)

Das Kompetenzcluster greenBatt ist Teil des Dachkonzepts des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) zur Batterieforschung. Die Mission des Clusters besteht in der Entwicklung, Gestaltung und Anwendung innovativer Technologien, Methoden und Werkzeuge für einen energie- und materialeffizienten Batterielebenszyklus und geschlossene Stoff- und Materialkreisläufe.

Clusterziele von greenBatt umfassen:

  • Entwicklung und Anwendung innovativer Recycling- und Resynthese-Prozesse
  • Erhöhung der Qualität und Verfügbarkeit von Daten zur Entwicklung multidisziplinärer Lebenszyklusmodelle und -werkzeuge
  • Empfehlungen für Design für Recycling und End-of-Use

In den 16 Forschungsprojekten des greenBatt-Clusters arbeiten Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler von ingesamt 34 Instituten deutscher Universitäten und Forschungseinrichtungen gemeinsam an der Erforschung des Batterierecyclings. Durch stetige Kommunikation zwischen den Forschungsprojekten und mit dem aus Industrie und Wissenschaft besetzten Managementkreis des Clusters wird in enger Abstimmung mit dem BMBF und dem KLiB ein enges Netzwerk geschaffen.

Gemeinsam mit dem Kompetenzcluster Batterienutzungskonzepte (BattNutzung) bildet greenBatt die Querschnittsinitiative Batterielebenszyklus. Weitere Kompetenzcluster im Dachkonzept des BMBF sind ProZell (Batteriezellproduktion), InZePro (Intelligente Batteriezellproduktion), ExcellBattMat (Batteriematerialien), FestBatt (Festkörperbatterien) und AQua (Analytik/ Qualitätssicherung).